

SWAN Annual General Meeting MINUTES

6.00pm 7th December 2022 Zoom Online Meeting

1) Meeting opened: 6.00pm

2) Attending:

Ant Pursell, Grant Avery, Clare Gibellini, Luke Robinson, Suresh Rajan, Jenny Griffyn, Amber Donnelly, Stephanie Knox, Kate Heaslip and Nick Avery.

3) Apologies:

Amy Munro

4) Approval of Minutes:

Previous AGM minutes presented.

- Clare Gibellini approved
- Grant Avery seconded

5) Presidents Report

Tabled and Attached

- Stephanie Knox approved
- Clare Gibellini seconded

6) Treasurers Report:

Tabled and Attached. Grant received an email from Auditors (Harvey and Partners) received a qualified opinion on verification of cash receipts, formal process to be implemented. Small variance between Treasurer's report and Auditor report due to reporting requirements. No issues of concern. Information, Linkages and Capacity building (ILC) grants extended to 30 June 2024.

- Ant Purcell approved
- Luke Robinson seconded

7) Staff Report:

South West Autism Network IncOffice: 6 Pettit Cres, West Busselton WA 6280Postal: PO Box 1739, Busselton WA 6280Phone: 0499 819 038Email: info@swanautism.org.auABN: 60 399 882 817

Tabled and Attached. SWAN now supports 1772 registered members and 1102 members of the closed Facebook group. Thanks to our volunteers for their invaluable support. Nick outlined:

- SWAN groups (incl YES Program and AutStars groups)
- Level of individual support
- Grant project updates

Acceptance of Staff report:

- Suresh Rajan approved
- Stephanie Knox seconded

8) Acceptance of Annual Report:

- Clare Gibellini moved
- Luke Robinson seconded

9) Proposed Amendments to Constitution

Page 1, B)

The object of the Association is advocate for and empower autistic people and people with disability in south west WA and beyond

Page 3,

member means a person who is a full member of the Association

(previously stated: **member** means a person (including a body corporate) who is a full member or an associate member of the Association;)

- Page 5,
 - a) **Individual** (Full Member) a person living in Western Australia, with a permanent disability as defined under the Disability Discrimination Act, over the age of 18 years who is an Australian citizen or permanent resident of Australia. An Individual (Full Member) is eligible for election as an office holder

(previously stated: a) Individual members (Full Members) - persons living in Western Australia, with a disability, over the age of 15 years who are Australian citizens or permanent residents of Australia.)

c) **Professional** (Associate member) – a person with demonstrated qualifications, knowledge, skills, expertise, and relevant experience as the Board may determine from time to time and/or has an associated interest in supporting the objects of the organisation. A Professional member (Associate member) is not eligible for election as an office holder.

(previously stated: c) Professional members (Associate members) – persons with a professional or associated interest in supporting the objects of the organisation.)

- Page 12,
 - 1) The Board members consist of
 - a) the office holders of the Association; and
 - b) up to five Full Members who are not office holders
 - c) a minimum of 50% of the Board comprising Individual (Full Members)

(previously stated: The Board members consist of ---

- a) the office holders of the Association; and
- b) at least one ordinary Board member.)
 - 2) The Board must determine the maximum number of members who may be ordinary Board members. (to be deleted)
- Page 13,

4) A person may be a Board member if the person is an individual who has reached 18 years of age.

(previously said: A person may be a Board member if the person is --

- a) an individual who has reached 18 years of age; and
- b) an ordinary member.)

Changes to Constitution accepted:

- Ant Pursell moved
- Suresh Rajan seconded

10)Questions to existing Board Members

No questions were raised.

11)Election of new Board members

- Ant Pursell nominated for President
- Grant Avery nominated for Treasurer
- Amy Munro has nominated for Vice President
- Clare Gibellini has nominated for Secretary
- Abby Atkinson, Luke Robinson, Suresh Rajan, Stephanie Knox and Jenny Griffyn nominated as General Board members

12)Meeting Closed:

7:72PM

AGM Minutes confirmed as correct by:



Clare Gibellini Board Secretary 3nd December 2023